An Evenheat kiln is built in Caseville, Michigan, by a company Evenheat says was founded in 1948. For home pottery the choice comes down to two series: RM models fire to cone 8, 2,300°F (1,260°C), which is enough for cone 5 to 6 stoneware, and HF (High Fire) models reach cone 10, 2,350°F (1,288°C). The RM 1822 is Evenheat's most popular personal-size ceramic kiln, the HF 1818 is the compact cone 10 pick, and the HF 810 runs on 120V.
This review is research-based. We used Evenheat's own model pages, its controller page and its category pages. We did not fire these kilns. Evenheat kilns were not found on amazon.com in our product research, so the buttons on this page run an Amazon search, and the main route to buy is an Evenheat dealer or Evenheat's own online shop.
Verdict: are Evenheat kilns good for pottery?
Yes, with one rule: check the series letters. An RM kiln is a mid-fire pottery kiln with a cone 8 ceiling, and an HF kiln is a cone 10 kiln with 3 inch brick on the pages we checked. If your clay and glazes are cone 5 to 6, an RM gives a little headroom above your firing temperature. If you want cone 10 glazes or high-fire porcelain, buy an HF.
Evenheat also offers more controller choices than most brands, from a button-and-display Rampmaster II to touchscreens with phone apps. That flexibility is a plus for experienced potters and a source of confusion for beginners.
Evenheat kiln specs by model
| Model | Electrical | Plug (NEMA) | Max temp | Interior | Brick | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RM 1822 | 240V 1-phase, 30A, 7,200 W | 6-50 | Cone 8, 2,300°F (1,260°C) | 17.5 in wide, 22.25 in deep, 3.3 cu ft | Not stated on page | Search Amazon |
| HF 1818 | 240V 1-phase, 28A, 6,672 W | 6-30 (see note) | Cone 10, 2,350°F (1,288°C) | 17.5 x 18 in, 2.7 cu ft | 3 in | Search Amazon |
| HF 2327 | 240V 1-phase, 48A, 11,520 W | 6-50 | Cone 10, 2,350°F (1,288°C) | 23.5 x 27 in, 7.0 cu ft | 3 in | Search Amazon |
| HF 810 | 120V, 18A, 2,160 W | 5-20 | Cone 8, 2,300°F (1,260°C) | 11.25 x 9 in, 0.57 cu ft | Not stated on page | Search Amazon |
| RM 810 | 120V, 18A, 2,160 W | 5-20 | Cone 5-1/2, 2,200°F (1,204°C) | 11.25 x 9 in, 0.57 cu ft | Not stated on page | Dealer order |
| HF 1210-B | 240V, 13A, 3,120 W | 6-20 | Cone 10, 2,350°F (1,288°C) | 11.25 x 13.5 in, 0.86 cu ft | 3 in | Dealer order |
Research notes: Evenheat's HF 1818 page lists a NEMA 6-30 plug for a 28A kiln. Most kilns at that draw use a 6-50 plug on a larger breaker, so confirm the plug and breaker with your dealer before the electrician fits the receptacle. Evenheat's model pages do not list breaker or wire sizes for the 240V kilns and tell buyers to consult an electrician; the 120V HF 810 and RM 810 pages call for a fully rated 20A breaker.
Have a licensed electrician check the panel, size the breaker and wire from the kiln's nameplate and local code, and install the receptacle. Never wire a kiln circuit yourself.
Evenheat RM 1822: the popular mid-fire kiln
Evenheat calls the RM 1822 its most popular personal-size ceramic kiln, and the specs explain why. It holds 3.3 cubic feet in a 17.5 inch wide, 22.25 inch deep chamber, more than an 18 x 18 inch kiln. It runs on 240V single-phase at 30A and 7,200 W with a NEMA 6-50 plug, and weighs about 125 lb.
Its cone 8 ceiling is the point to understand. Most hobby potters fire glazes at cone 5 to 6, and a kiln rated two cones higher works less hard at that temperature than one that is pushed to its limit. If you never plan to fire cone 10, the RM saves money over an HF.
- Electrical: 240V 1-phase, 30A, 7,200 W, NEMA 6-50
- Max temperature: Cone 8, 2,300°F (1,260°C)
- Interior: 17.5 in wide, 22.25 in deep, 3.3 cu ft
- Controller: choice of TAP II, Icon+, Icon or Rampmaster II
- Weight: about 125 lb
- Price: not published on the model page; Evenheat posts a price list PDF and dealers quote
Pros
- 3.3 cu ft for cone 6 work
- Controller choice
- 50 and 60 Hz rated
Cons
- Cone 8 maximum rules out cone 10
- Brick thickness not stated on the page
- Dealer only
Who should skip it: Potters who want cone 10 or porcelain at high fire; choose an HF model instead.
Evenheat HF 1818: compact cone 10
The HF 1818 is the cone 10 kiln for a home studio. Evenheat lists 240V single-phase, 28A and 6,672 W, a 17.5 inch by 18 inch chamber of 2.7 cubic feet, and 3 inch brick. It weighs about 155 lb and is offered with TAP I, Icon+ or Rampmaster II controls.
- Electrical: 240V 1-phase, 28A, 6,672 W; NEMA 6-30 per Evenheat's page
- Max temperature: Cone 10, 2,350°F (1,288°C)
- Interior: 17.5 x 18 in, 2.7 cu ft; 3 in brick
- Weight: about 155 lb
Pros
- Cone 10 rating
- 3 in brick
- Size similar to the Skutt KM-818
Cons
- Plug spec needs checking with the dealer
- Not available in 3-phase
Who should skip it: Cone 6 potters who would get more space for the money from the RM 1822.
Evenheat HF 2327: the big high-fire kiln
Evenheat calls the HF 2327 its most popular high fire model. It holds 7.0 cubic feet in a 23.5 by 27 inch chamber, draws 48A and 11,520 W on 240V single-phase with a NEMA 6-50 plug, and weighs about 295 lb. Evenheat offers it with a multi-zone TAP I controller, which can balance heat between the top and bottom of a tall kiln, or with Icon+ or Rampmaster II.
Pros
- 7 cu ft
- Cone 10
- Multi-zone control option
- Other voltages by request
Cons
- 48A draw needs a large circuit
- Heavy
Who should skip it: Hobby potters who fire a few pieces a month.
Evenheat HF 810: the 120V choice
The HF 810 runs on 120V at 18A and 2,160 W with a NEMA 5-20 plug and a fully rated 20A breaker. Evenheat rates it to cone 8, 2,300°F (1,260°C), so it covers cone 5 to 6 glazes from a household-voltage circuit. The chamber is 11.25 inches wide and 9 inches deep, 0.57 cubic feet, and the kiln weighs 55 lb.
The RM 810 shares the same size and electrical rating but stops at cone 5-1/2, 2,200°F (1,204°C), which is too close to cone 6 for comfort. For mid-fire work the HF 810 is the safer pick.
Pros
- 120V
- Cone 8 headroom above cone 6
- Light
Cons
- Small chamber
- Needs a 20A circuit with a 5-20 receptacle
Who should skip it: Anyone who wants cone 10, or who can install 240V and fire bigger loads.
Evenheat controllers: TAP, Icon and Rampmaster
Evenheat's controls page lists six controllers. These are the ones offered on pottery kilns:
- TAP II: Evenheat's most popular controller, with a large touchscreen and an SDS Industries phone app.
- TAP I: multi-zone version used on larger HF kilns, also with the SDS app.
- Icon+: touchscreen built on Bartlett's Genesis platform, with the Bartlett app.
- Icon: simpler touchscreen on Bartlett's Spark platform, with the Bartlett app.
- Rampmaster II: dedicated buttons and a readout, no touchscreen and no app, for ceramic use.
The Rampmaster 3 is for glass and heat treating. Used Evenheat kilns may carry older controllers such as the Set-Pro or earlier Rampmaster versions. Evenheat says all current controllers use low-error, special limits thermocouples. Our kiln controller guide explains cone-fire and ramp-hold programming, and our Rampmaster review covers the keypad unit.
Glass vs ceramic Evenheat models
Evenheat builds glass kilns (Studio Pro and GTS lines) and knife heat treat ovens as well as pottery kilns. Glass kilns are designed for glass firing schedules, and a used Evenheat sold as a "kiln" may be one of these. Before you buy, match the model number to Evenheat's ceramic pages and check the maximum temperature against the cone your clay needs.
Where Evenheat kilns are made
Evenheat states it is based in Caseville, Michigan, was founded in 1948, and manufactures in the USA. Its kilns are rated for 50 and 60 Hz, and larger models can be built in other voltages by request.
Evenheat Studio Pro series: glass kilns, not pottery kilns
The Studio Pro is Evenheat's personal-size glass kiln line, built for fusing, slumping, draping, painting and kiln casting. Evenheat calls the layout "dual access": the kiln opens from the top and the front. Evenheat lists three personal-size models:
- Studio Pro STP: rated to 1,800°F (982°C).
- Studio Pro 14: rated to 1,650°F (900°C).
- Studio Pro 17: rated to 1,650°F (900°C); Evenheat calls it its most popular personal-size glass kiln.
Those limits sit below cone 06, which Orton's chart puts at 1,828°F (998°C), so a Studio Pro cannot bisque or glaze fire pottery clay. It is a good kiln for a potter who also fuses glass, but it does not replace an RM or HF kiln. The GTS line is Evenheat's top-loading glass kiln series.
Evenheat ceramic kilns vs heat-treat ovens
Evenheat is also well known among knifemakers. Its knife and heat treat range includes the 120V Cube 7 and KH series, the 240V LB series, high-temperature KO kilns, deep KF Extreme kilns, LT tempering ovens, HT shop models and salt bath units. Evenheat lists them for knife making and general heat treating of steel, not for ceramics.
For pottery, stay with the ceramic category: RM, HF and the china and porcelain models. A heat treat oven may reach high temperatures, but Evenheat does not market it as a pottery kiln, so its ratings and manual are written for steel. If a used listing just says "Evenheat kiln," match the model letters to Evenheat's ceramic pages before you pay.
Buying a used Evenheat kiln
A used Evenheat can be a sound buy if you check it like any other used kiln. Start with the nameplate: model, voltage, phase and amps tell you whether it is an RM, HF, glass kiln or heat treat oven, and whether it will run on your circuit. Then check these points:
- Controller: used kilns may carry older Set-Pro or early Rampmaster units, so ask the seller for the manual and check Evenheat's manuals page and a dealer for parts.
- Elements and brick: sagging elements, crumbling grooves or glaze drips on the brick mean repair costs on top of the price.
- Maximum cone: an RM kiln stops at cone 8 and an RM 810 at cone 5-1/2, so do not expect cone 10.
- Warranty: Evenheat's warranty, as hosted by The Ceramic Shop, runs from the original purchase and requires proof of purchase, so assume a used kiln has none.
Our kiln for sale guide covers inspecting a used kiln and fair prices, and our kiln elements guide shows wear signs.
Where to buy Evenheat kilns, and what they cost
Evenheat sells through ceramic, glass and knife-supply distributors and through its own online shop, shopevenheat.com. Its "Where to Buy" page has separate dealer finders for ceramic kilns, glass kilns and heat treat ovens, so use the ceramic list for pottery. Evenheat posts a downloadable price list rather than prices on each model page.
Dealer listings give a guide. In October 2026 The Ceramic Shop listed the RM II 1822 with an Icon+ controller in the $2,400 to $3,000 band, made to order and shipping in 6 to 8 weeks, and Clay-King listed the HF 1818 in the $2,500 to $3,100 band with a 4 to 6 week lead time. Freight terms vary by dealer, and The Ceramic Shop lists 2.5 inch brick for the RM II 1822, a figure Evenheat's model page did not state. Check the live price with a dealer.
Evenheat customer service and support
Evenheat lists "best industry customer service" as a core value and publishes direct contact details: phone 989-856-2281 and email info@evenheat-kiln.com, with office hours of 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Eastern. Its site has a manuals page and a shipping and returns policy page.
The warranty copy hosted by The Ceramic Shop gives two years on Evenheat kilns, or one year for kilns that contain fiber such as the Studio Pro series. It covers defects in workmanship and materials under normal use, excludes overfiring damage, and asks you to tell the dealer who sold the kiln within 10 days of finding a defect. Keep your receipt and send in the warranty card. Evenheat's TAP controllers pair with an SDS Industries app and its Icon controllers with the Bartlett app, so the app maker is a second source of controller help.
What Evenheat does well
The controller range is the main draw. You can choose a simple keypad you will never need to update, or a touchscreen with an app. Larger HF kilns offer multi-zone control. The RM and HF split also lets cone 6 potters avoid paying for a cone 10 kiln they do not need.
Weak points
Evenheat is dealer-only in our research, with no amazon.com listings, and prices sit in a downloadable PDF rather than on model pages. Breaker and wire sizes for the 240V kilns are not on the model pages, and the HF 1818 plug spec looks unusual. RM kilns stop at cone 8, which surprises buyers who assume every pottery kiln reaches cone 10.
Who should buy an Evenheat kiln, and who should skip
Buy an Evenheat if you have a local dealer, want a specific controller, and know your firing cone. The RM 1822 suits cone 6 potters, the HF 1818 suits compact cone 10 studios, and the HF 810 suits 120V homes. If you are a beginner comparing brands, our best kilns for home pottery page covers beginner picks, and our kiln cost guide covers how much electricity a kiln uses. Skip Evenheat if you want to buy online with published prices, or if you are unsure which cone you will fire; a brand with every model rated to cone 10 is simpler.
Keep the clearances in Evenheat's manual, ventilate the room or fit a kiln vent, and keep flammables away from the kiln. Clay and glaze dust contain silica, so wet-clean the floor and wear a NIOSH-approved respirator when mixing dry materials.
Alternatives to Evenheat
- Skutt kilns: KM-818 is the closest match to the HF 1818.
- L&L kilns: every Easy-Fire except the largest reaches cone 10.
- Olympic kilns: Medallion models with published wire sizes.
- Best kilns for home pottery: our cross-brand picks.
Sources: Evenheat Kiln homepage and company details; Evenheat ceramic category pages (personal, studio, china and porcelain); Evenheat model pages for RM 1822, HF 1818, HF 2327, HF 810, RM 810, RM 1210-B and HF 1210-B; Evenheat controls page; Evenheat published price page; Evenheat glass kiln (Studio Pro) and knife and heat treat oven category pages; Evenheat where-to-buy page and contact details; The Ceramic Shop RM II 1822 listing and its copy of Evenheat's warranty; Clay-King HF 1818 listing; L&L kiln longevity knowledgebase article; Orton cone chart (2016). Specs checked October 2026.