Review

Shimpo Pottery Wheels: Every Current Model Compared

Verdict in brief

Shimpo sells four pottery wheels in the US: the VL-Whisper, RK-Whisper, VL-Lite and Aspire. For most home studios the VL-Whisper is the best fit (quiet direct drive, 14 in head, 100 lb centering). Pick the VL-Lite for a small room and light work, or the Aspire for a 25 lb tabletop wheel. The RK-55 is a 230V model sold outside the US.

On this page
  1. Every current Shimpo pottery wheel compared
  2. Who makes Shimpo wheels? Nidec and the Shimpo name
  3. Shimpo VL-Whisper: the quiet full-size pick
  4. Shimpo RK-Whisper: same motor, classic RK layout
  5. Shimpo VL-Lite: light belt drive for small rooms
  6. Shimpo Aspire: the tabletop option
  7. Is the Shimpo RK-55 pottery wheel still made?
  8. Direct drive or belt drive: what the Shimpo range tells you
  9. Which Shimpo wheel is best for a home studio?
  10. Where Shimpo wheels fall short
  11. Buying a Shimpo wheel in the US
  12. Shimpo electrical requirements: voltage, amps and outlet
  13. Shimpo promotions and rebates
  14. Questions to ask yourself before choosing a Shimpo wheel
  15. Shimpo alternatives worth comparing
  16. Frequently asked questions

A Shimpo pottery wheel is made by Nidec-Shimpo, the Japanese company behind the RK wheels that have been in classrooms for decades. In October 2026 Shimpo's US site lists four wheels: the VL-Whisper, RK-Whisper, VL-Lite and Aspire. For a home studio that wants one wheel for years, the VL-Whisper is the strongest all-rounder, with a quiet direct-drive motor, a 14 in wheelhead and 100 lb centering.

The VL-Lite is the pick for small rooms and pieces under 25 lb, and the Aspire is a 25 lb tabletop wheel for very tight spaces. Below you will find a spec table of every current model, who makes Shimpo wheels today, what happened to the RK-55, and where each wheel falls short.

How we researched this: Home Pottery HQ does not test wheels in a studio. We compared Shimpo's own spec pages, Nidec's corporate history and US dealer listings (Clay-King, Krueger Pottery Supply, Seattle Pottery Supply, Blick, The Ceramic Shop). Where those sources disagree, we show both figures. Specs checked October 2026.

Every current Shimpo pottery wheel compared

The four US models split into two direct-drive "Whisper" wheels and two lighter belt-drive wheels. The last row is the RK-55, which Nidec still lists for 230V markets; it is not part of the US range, but people search for it, so we include it for reference.

ModelDrive and motorWheelheadCenteringSpeedDirection and controlWeightUS price band
VL-WhisperDirect drive, brushless DC, 1/2 HP (400 W)14 in100 lb0 to 250 rpmReversing; remote foot pedal120 lb$1,800 to $2,150
RK-WhisperDirect drive, brushless DC, 1/2 HP (400 W)12 in100 lb0 to 250 rpmReversing; fixed pedal plus hand lever116 lb$1,550 to $1,700
VL-LiteBelt drive, 100 W12 in25 lb0 to 250 rpmReversing; remote foot pedal51 lb$1,000 to $1,220
AspireBelt drive, 100 W DC7 in20 lb0 to 230 rpmOne direction, chosen when ordered; hand lever or pedal25 lb$570 to $810
RK-55 (not a US model)Belt drive, 100 W, 230V 50 Hz300 mm (about 12 in)Not published by the maker0 to 250 rpmReversing; remote pedal23 kg (about 51 lb)Not sold as a US model

All four US models carry a 5-year warranty on Shimpo's own pages. Price bands are what US dealers showed in October 2026, from sale price to regular price; check the live price before you buy, because Shimpo dealers run promotions often.

Who makes Shimpo wheels? Nidec and the Shimpo name

Shimpo began as Shimpo Industrial Corporation, set up in Japan in April 1952. According to Nidec's company history, its first potter's wheel, the RK-1, appeared in November 1958. Nidec Corporation, a large Japanese motor maker, bought Shimpo in February 1995, and the trade name became Nidec-Shimpo Corporation in October 1997.

In April 2023 the parent company changed its trade name again, to Nidec Drive Technology Corporation. The pottery business still trades as Shimpo Ceramics, which describes itself as a division of Nidec-Shimpo and is based in Glendale Heights, Illinois. Its website footer also reads "Distributed by Daido".

That history explains the names you see in shops. In 2018 Shimpo announced that its product groups would move under the Nidec brand and Nidec's green color, which is why Blick and Utrecht list "Nidec Shimpo" wheels and why people search for a "nidec pottery wheel". It is the same company and the same wheels. Shimpo says access to Nidec's motor design and volume motor production shaped the motors in its current wheels.

Shimpo VL-Whisper: the quiet full-size pick

Best Shimpo for most home studiosShimpo VL-Whisper
Key specs 1/2 HP (400 W) direct-drive brushless; 14 in; 100 lb; 0-250 rpm; reversing; remote pedal;

The VL-Whisper is the wheel most home potters mean when they say "a Shimpo". It uses a direct-drive brushless motor, so there is no belt to slip, stretch or squeak. Shimpo says the pedal stops the head immediately, the head spins freely like a banding wheel when the pedal is at stop, and the wheel holds a set speed at low rpm even with 100 lb of clay.

The legs adjust and come off, so the same wheel can sit on a sturdy table or stand on its own. Shimpo sells extension legs that raise it to 35 to 37 in for throwing standing up. Read our full Shimpo VL-Whisper review for the details.

  • Motor: 1/2 HP, 400 W, brushless DC, direct drive, 115V 60 Hz
  • Wheelhead: 14 in alloy, drilled for bat pins
  • Centering: 100 lb
  • Speed: 0 to 250 rpm, reversing
  • Weight: 120 lb (Shimpo); 147 lb shipping
  • Warranty: 5 years

Pros

  • Very quiet, belt-free drive
  • 14 in head and 100 lb centering
  • Removable legs for table or floor use

Cons

  • Heavy at about 120 lb
  • 5-year warranty is shorter than Brent and Speedball's 10 years
  • Pacemaker warning on the maker page

Who should skip it: anyone who needs to move the wheel often, or who only throws small pieces and would be fine with the VL-Lite.

Shimpo RK-Whisper: same motor, classic RK layout

Classic RK layoutShimpo RK-Whisper
Key specs 1/2 HP 400 W direct-drive brushless; 12 in; 100 lb; 0-250 rpm; reversing; fixed pedal plus

The RK-Whisper shares the VL-Whisper's 1/2 HP direct-drive motor and 100 lb centering rating, but in Shimpo's older RK body. The foot pedal is fixed to the frame and has a hand lever, so you can set a speed by hand and take your foot off. The wheelhead is 12 in rather than 14 in, and the body is more compact at 20 x 21 x 20 in.

It often sells for a few hundred dollars less than the VL-Whisper. The trade-off is the fixed pedal: you cannot slide it to the other side or move it for a different throwing position the way you can with the VL series remote pedal.

  • Motor: 1/2 HP, 400 W, brushless DC, direct drive, 115V 60 Hz
  • Wheelhead: 12 in alloy, drilled for bat pins
  • Centering: 100 lb
  • Speed: 0 to 250 rpm, reversing
  • Control: fixed foot pedal with hand lever
  • Weight: 116 lb; 142 lb shipping
  • Warranty: 5 years

Pros

  • Same quiet motor as the VL-Whisper for less money
  • Hand lever holds a set speed
  • Compact frame

Cons

  • Smaller 12 in head
  • Pedal cannot be moved
  • Splash pan is sold separately per Shimpo

Who should skip it: potters who like to move the pedal around, or who want the larger 14 in head for wide bowls and plates.

Shimpo VL-Lite: light belt drive for small rooms

Best for small spacesShimpo VL-Lite
Key specs 100 W reversible motor; 12 in head; 25 lb; 0-250 rpm; reversing; remote pedal; 51 lb; 120V
Mid-range tierCheck price on Amazon

The VL-Lite weighs 51 lb, less than half of a Whisper, yet keeps a remote foot pedal, a reversing switch and a 0 to 250 rpm range. It uses a 100 W belt-drive motor with automatic belt tensioning and a built-in overload breaker. The catch is centering: Shimpo rates it at 25 lb, so it suits mugs, bowls and small vases rather than large forms.

A two-piece splash pan comes in the box. Our Shimpo VL-Lite review covers who it suits and how it compares with tabletop wheels.

  • Motor: 100 W reversible, belt drive
  • Wheelhead: 12 in
  • Centering: 25 lb
  • Speed: 0 to 250 rpm
  • Size: 22 x 28 x 21 in
  • Weight: 51 lb; 85 lb shipping
  • Warranty: 5 years

Pros

  • Light enough to carry
  • Reversing and remote pedal at a mid price
  • Splash pan included

Cons

  • 25 lb centering limits large work
  • Belt drive needs more care than direct drive

Who should skip it: anyone planning to throw large pots or centering more than about 10 to 15 lb at a time regularly; a full-size wheel will feel less strained.

Shimpo Aspire: the tabletop option

Best Shimpo tabletopShimpo Aspire
Key specs 100 W DC; 7 in head; 20 lb; 0-230 rpm; one direction (order CW or CCW); lever hand control
Mid-range tierCheck price on Amazon

The Aspire is Shimpo's smallest wheel: 25 lb, a 7 in alloy head and 20 lb centering. Shimpo says it fits in a carry-on suitcase. The standard version uses a hand lever for speed, which Shimpo describes as accessible for users who cannot work a foot pedal; a foot pedal version and a pedal conversion kit also exist.

It spins in one direction only. Counterclockwise is standard and clockwise has to be ordered. See the Shimpo Aspire review for its availability and how it compares with the Speedball Artista.

  • Motor: 100 W DC
  • Wheelhead: 7 in alloy with bat pins (two 9 3/4 in bats included)
  • Centering: 20 lb
  • Speed: 0 to 230 rpm, one direction
  • Control: hand lever; pedal version or kit available
  • Weight: 25 lb
  • Warranty: 5 years (Shimpo)

Pros

  • Very light and portable
  • Lever control works without a pedal
  • Splash pan and two bats included

Cons

  • Small 7 in head
  • Cannot reverse
  • Stock is patchy at US dealers

Who should skip it: anyone with room for a floor wheel, or left-handed potters who may want to switch direction later.

Is the Shimpo RK-55 pottery wheel still made?

Yes, but not for the US. Nidec's global product site still lists the RK-55 as a 100 W, 230V 50 Hz belt-drive wheel with a 300 mm head, 0 to 250 rpm, reversing, a remote pedal and a two-piece splash pan. UK dealers such as Potterycrafts and Potclays sell it.

It does not appear on Shimpo's US site. The published specs line up closely with the US VL-Lite: same 100 W motor rating, same speed range, same belt drive with automatic tensioning, about the same 51 lb (23 kg) weight and nearly the same footprint. That is our reading of the two spec sheets, not a Shimpo statement. A 230V 50 Hz wheel is not designed for standard US 120V outlets, so a US buyer looking for an RK-55 should look at the VL-Lite instead.

Shopping used? Older Shimpo wheels and UK listings use other names, such as RK-3E, RK-3T and Whisper T for direct-drive models, and RK-5T for the Aspire. Check the voltage plate before buying any imported or used wheel.

Direct drive or belt drive: what the Shimpo range tells you

The two Whisper wheels use a direct-drive brushless motor. With no belt, Shimpo claims near-silent running, no coasting when you stop, and steady torque at low speed. For centering heavy clay slowly, that is the main reason to pay more.

The VL-Lite and Aspire use belts and smaller 100 W motors. That keeps weight and price down, and Shimpo says the VL-Lite's motor brushes keep it quiet. Belt-drive wheels are perfectly usable for small work; they simply give up capacity. If you are unsure how much clay you will throw, our guide to centering clay explains why larger pieces need more torque.

Which Shimpo wheel is best for a home studio?

  • Choose the VL-Whisper if you want one wheel that handles everything from mugs to large bowls, in a shared house or apartment where noise matters.
  • Choose the RK-Whisper if you want the same motor for less money and like a hand lever, and a 12 in head is enough.
  • Choose the VL-Lite if you throw small to mid-size pieces, need to move the wheel, or have a small room.
  • Choose the Aspire if space is very tight, you want to throw at a table, or you need hand-lever control.

If you are still choosing between brands, our best pottery wheels guide puts Shimpo against Brent, Speedball and Skutt, and how much a pottery wheel costs breaks down the price tiers.

Where Shimpo wheels fall short

Warranty length. Shimpo gives 5 years on all four US wheels. Brent and Speedball's full-size wheels carry 10 years, and so does Skutt. Over a long ownership that matters.

Dealer spec errors. Dealer pages often mislabel Shimpo motors. Clay-King lists the VL-Lite and Aspire as 1/3 HP and The Ceramic Shop lists the VL-Lite as 1/2 HP, while Shimpo itself gives only "100 W" for both (100 W works out to about 0.13 HP). Trust the Shimpo page.

Pacemaker warning. Shimpo's VL-Whisper and RK-Whisper pages carry a warning that the product may be harmful to a person with a pacemaker. If that applies to anyone who will use the wheel, ask a physician and Shimpo before buying.

Acidic clay. Shimpo warns that highly acidic clays can pit the aluminum wheelhead and recommends throwing on a bat. See our pottery bats guide if you need some.

Buying a Shimpo wheel in the US

Shimpo sells through a dealer network (Shimpo says more than 150 dealers worldwide). In the US that includes pottery suppliers such as Clay-King, Krueger Pottery Supply and Seattle Pottery Supply, art suppliers such as Blick, and Amazon listings for some models. Dealers often include free ground shipping in the contiguous US and ship wheels by freight.

Check what is in the box. Shimpo's VL-Whisper page lists the two-piece splash pan as an accessory, while Clay-King, Seattle Pottery Supply and Blick say their VL-Whisper includes one. Shimpo says the RK-Whisper's pan is sold separately. Confirm with the seller before you order.

All four US Shimpo wheels run on standard US household power (Shimpo lists 115V 60 Hz for the Whispers; Krueger lists 120V for the VL-Lite). Plug them into a grounded outlet near the wheel, not an extension cord run across a wet floor, and have a licensed electrician check the circuit if you are unsure. Clean trimmings and splash pans wet: dried clay dust contains silica, so never dry sweep it.

Shimpo electrical requirements: voltage, amps and outlet

Shimpo's spec pages and manuals give the power figures below. None of the four US wheels needs a 240V circuit, but Shimpo does not publish an amp draw, a breaker size or a plug type for any of them, so we cannot print those numbers.

ModelPower (Shimpo)AmpsWhat the manual says about the outlet
VL-Whisper400 W, AC 115V, 60 HzNot published by the makerConnect to a 115V single-phase AC outlet only; do not run several power cables from the same outlet
RK-Whisper400 W, AC 115V, 60 HzNot published by the makerPlug directly into a wall outlet, not into an extension cord
VL-Lite100 W motor; voltage not stated on Shimpo's page (Krueger lists 120V)Not published by the makerUse only the voltage and frequency marked on the wheel; do not run several power cables from the same outlet
Aspire100 W DC motor; voltage not stated on Shimpo's pageNot published by the makerNot stated on Shimpo's spec page; check the rating plate on the wheel

In practice that means a grounded household outlet close to the wheel, with nothing else heavy on the same circuit if you can help it. The Whisper and VL-Lite manuals also warn against touching the plug or switches with wet hands, which is easy to do mid-session. If your studio outlet is an old two-prong type, sits on a long run of shared circuit, or is in a garage or basement where water collects, have a licensed electrician check it or fit a new grounded outlet. Do not rewire anything yourself. Imported or used wheels may be built for 230V 50 Hz, like the RK-55, and should not be plugged into a US 120V outlet.

Shimpo promotions and rebates

When we checked in October 2026, Shimpo's US site did not list a consumer rebate for home buyers. The only offer on the VL-Whisper page was for schools: orders in the 48 contiguous states of 5 or more VL or RK-Whisper wheels get a free adjustable stool with each wheel and free shipping.

For one wheel at home, the savings come from dealers instead. The low end of each price band in our table is a dealer sale price, and several dealers include free ground shipping in the contiguous US. Ask whether the splash pan is in the box before you compare prices, because Shimpo's list price for a replacement pan runs roughly $70 to $110 on the Whisper wheels.

Questions to ask yourself before choosing a Shimpo wheel

The four wheels are different tools, so answer these before you compare prices:

  • What will you make? Mugs, cups and small bowls fit the VL-Lite's 25 lb or the Aspire's 20 lb rating. Large bowls, platters and tall vases point to a 100 lb Whisper.
  • Where will it live? A 120 lb Whisper stays put. If the wheel has to be cleared away after each session, the 51 lb VL-Lite or 25 lb Aspire is far easier.
  • Does noise matter? In an apartment or shared house, the belt-free Whisper motor is the main reason to pay more.
  • Pedal or hand lever? The VL wheels use a remote pedal, the RK-Whisper has a fixed pedal plus a hand lever, and the Aspire uses a lever with an optional pedal.
  • Do you need to reverse? Three models reverse; the Aspire spins one way only, so left-handed potters must order the clockwise version.
  • Sit, stand or tabletop? Only the VL-Whisper offers removable legs plus extension legs for standing.
  • How long will you keep it? All four carry 5 years. If a 10-year warranty matters, compare Brent, Skutt and the Speedball Clay Boss.

If you are new to the wheel and unsure about the first question, our guide to wheel throwing for beginners shows what typical first projects need.

Shimpo alternatives worth comparing

For more centering capacity and a 10-year warranty, look at Brent pottery wheels; the Brent Model B is the usual rival to the VL-Whisper. The Speedball Clay Boss offers a 14 in head and 100 lb centering for less money, though it reverses by a plug rather than a switch. For built-in or one-piece splash pans and US manufacturing, see our Skutt pottery wheels guide.

Sources: Shimpo Ceramics spec pages for the VL-Whisper, RK-Whisper, VL-Lite and Aspire, plus its pottery wheels and About Us pages and the VL-Whisper school promotion (shimpoceramics.com); Shimpo VL-Whisper, RK-Whisper and VL-Lite instruction manuals; Nidec Drive Technology corporate history (nidec.com); Nidec RK-55 product page (nidec.com); Nidec-Shimpo brand transition notice (nidec-shimpo.com); dealer listings from Clay-King, Krueger Pottery Supply, Seattle Pottery Supply, Blick and The Ceramic Shop; Potterycrafts and Potclays RK-55 listings. Specs checked October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

Which Shimpo wheel is best for home use?

For most home studios the VL-Whisper is the best Shimpo: a quiet 1/2 HP direct-drive motor, a 14 in head, 100 lb centering and removable legs. If you only throw small pieces or need to move the wheel, the 51 lb VL-Lite costs much less, and the 25 lb Aspire suits a tabletop.

Who makes Shimpo wheels?

Shimpo wheels are made by Nidec-Shimpo, a Japanese company owned by Nidec Corporation since 1995. The parent company changed its trade name to Nidec Drive Technology in 2023, and US sales run through Shimpo Ceramics in Glendale Heights, Illinois, which is why dealers often list them as Nidec Shimpo wheels.

Is the Shimpo RK-55 still made?

Yes, Nidec still lists the RK-55, but as a 230V 50 Hz wheel for markets such as the UK, not for the US. Its published specs closely match the US VL-Lite (100 W, 12 in head, 0 to 250 rpm, about 51 lb), so US buyers should look at the VL-Lite instead.

How much does a Shimpo pottery wheel cost?

In October 2026 US dealers showed the Aspire at typically $570 to $810, the VL-Lite at $1,000 to $1,220, the RK-Whisper at $1,550 to $1,700 and the VL-Whisper at $1,800 to $2,150. The low end of each band is a dealer sale price, so check the live price and whether the splash pan is included.

Is Shimpo a Japanese company?

Yes. Shimpo was founded in Japan in 1952 and has been owned by Japan’s Nidec group since 1995. US sales and support run through Shimpo Ceramics, a division of Nidec-Shimpo based in Glendale Heights, Illinois, and Shimpo’s manuals give that Illinois address.

Researched and written by Muhammad Mustafa

Muhammad Mustafa researches and writes Home Pottery HQ from maker spec sheets, manuals, dealer listings and published studio guidance. He does not claim hands-on testing of products he has not used, and every page names its sources.

Specifications and availability change often. Check the product listing before you buy, and follow the manufacturer's manual for setup, weight limits and maintenance. We do not print prices because they change daily; the buttons take you to the live price. Read our affiliate disclosure.